Exchange 2013 Server Licensing

Exchange 2013 Server Licensing
License Types
Exchange Server 2013 on-premises can be licensed in the Server / Client Access License (CAL) model in two ways:
1. Server Licenses
A license must be assigned for each instance of the server software that is being run. The Exchange Server license is sold in two server editions:

  • Standard Edition: designed for the mailbox needs of small to medium organizations. Also appropriate for non-mailbox roles in a larger Exchange deployment.
  • Enterprise Edition: designed for larger organizations that may require a greater number of mailbox databases.

2. Client Access Licenses (CALs)
Exchange requires a CAL for each user or device that accesses the server software. There are two types of CALs for Exchange:

  • Standard CAL: designed to help users be more productive from virtually any platform, browser, or mobile device, with new features in Exchange Server 2013 that help manage communications overload and lower helpdesk costs.
  • Enterprise CAL: designed to allow organizations to reduce the costs and complexity of meeting compliance requirements with new integrated archiving functionality and information protection capabilities, while also helping you cut costs by replacing legacy voice mail systems with Unified Messaging.

The Enterprise CAL is sold as an add-on to the Standard CAL. To enable Standard CAL features for a user, the user must be licensed with just the Standard CAL. To enable Enterprise CAL features, the user must be licensed with one Standard CAL plus one Enterprise CAL.
Note: Both CALs work with either Server Edition.