On November 5th we are launching Restricted Communities as a feature in G+. This means that your Google Apps for Business customers will be able to restrict communities to only their organization. Restricted communities mirror the Public and Private communities in the consumer space, but these Restricted Communities can only be joined or seen by users in their organization.
The four types of restricted communities are:
|Type of community||Who can join||Who can see posts and members||Who can find community via search*|
|1. Open within your domain – Anyone in your organization can join||Everyone in your organization||Everyone in your organization||Everyone in your organization|
|2. Open within your domain – Moderator approval needed to join||Anyone in your organization can request to join, but moderators must approve membership||Everyone in your organization||Everyone in your organization|
|3. Private in your domain – Moderator approval needed to join||Anyone in your organization can request to join, but moderators must approve membership||Community members||Everyone in your organization|
|4. Private in your domain – Hide community from searches||Only people in your organization who are invited||Community members||Not shown in search results**|
*Restricted communities may not yet be searchable in your domain.
**The name and photo of a “private in your domain” community that’s hidden from search will still be visible to people in your organization who type in or follow a link to the community’s web address. The name and photo will not be visible outside your organization.
If you choose not to have search engines index your community, the community itself won’t appear in Google search results. However, your community will still remain visible to anyone in your organization with the URL. Other pages and content (including websites, blogs, and Google products such as Picasa Web) that link to your community can still appear in search results. If someone outside your organization follows a link to your organization, they will see an error and won’t be able to view the community.
Reference by http://www.google.com